





- WHEREAS, In 1976, the North Hopkins Fire Department was established by nine members; and
- WHEREAS, Kenneth Cockran served as President, James Lair as Vice-President, Gene Dixon as Secretary and Treasurer, Merrel Chester as Chief along with Fire Fighters Jesse Orr, John Martin, Jerry Don Gibby, Jimmy Goldsmith, Jerry Glossup; and
- WHEREAS, In 1976, with revenue sharing money, Hopkins County purchased five one-ton chassis to be fully equipped to include the installation of citizens band radios; and
- **WHEREAS,** In 1976, Bill Mosely donated the property for the Fire Station with the stipulation that the property would return to the family in the event the Volunteer Fire Department ceased to exit.
- WHEREAS, Other donations included a deuce and a half tanker by Texas Forestry, an EMS ambulance by John Martin which served as a rescue service truck, a rescue boat also by John Martin and, a brush truck by A&S Air Conditioning, Inc.
- WHEREAS, Currently, the North Hopkins Volunteer Fire Department has nine members supporting four fire apparatus Bobby Harris as Fire Chief, Steve Taylor as Assistant Chief, Arron Daniels as Lieutenant, Bobby Brown as Lieutenant along with Fire Fighters, Brenten Burnside, Blake Stewart, Gary Hendricks, Lashonda Taylor, Darrell Moore and Debbie Harris as Treasurer/Bookkeeper.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Hopkins County Commissioners Court urges all citizens of Hopkins County to celebrate the outstanding efforts of the firemen of the North Hopkins Volunteer Fire Department, to recognize the dedication in their perseverance to provide protection for the citizens of Hopkins County and their property and, offer sincere appreciation for the servanthood of each one.

APPROVED AND ADOPTED by the Hopkins County Commissioners Court at the regularly scheduled meeting on the 25th day of March, 2019.

Robert Newsom, Hopkins County Judge

Mickey Barker, Commissioner, Pct. 1

Greg Anglin, Commissioner, Pct. 2

Wade Bartley, Commissioner, Pct. 3

Me Price, Commissioner, Pct. 4

Andy Endsley, Hopkins County Fire Chief